Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast
    (Chester County)

Default Anyone here into hand-to-hand training?

I've always been a fan of various martial arts, anyone else? When your rifle is out of ammunition, pistol is gone, and trusty blade at the bottom of a river; knowing how to break elbows and snap tendons is certainly useful. Does/has anyone here train in any type of fighting art? I used to, stopped for a while, and now I am starting to get back into it. Your thoughts?
    "We must all hang together, or, most assuredly, we shall all hang separately." -Benjamin Franklin

M91/30 ~ Stag 15 Model 2

Default Re: Anyone here into hand-to-hand training?

I have extensive training in hand to hand combat. As a young boy I studied Tae Kwon Do for 2 years. Then in my teens I studied Jeet Kune Do for rougly 2 years as well. When I got to college I started taking Krav Maga (also for 2 years), it was much closer to my personal style of fighting. I will say that it did feel a bit lax though compared to the discipline that I had received from my other martial arts schools. After I stopped studying Krav Maga I trained for 8 months with a friend who was a 3rd degree blackbelt in Aikido, and sparred quite frequently with a friend who had been studying Brazilian Jui Jitsu for 2 years. Currently I study a martial art called Jing Te Jutsu, which is a legit style although it is not widely known. It is a combination of Judo, Karate, Aiki-jitsu, Wing Chun Kung Fu, Kali, and Japanese Jui Jitsu, and some other minor contributions from other styles. I love martial arts, they are just such a part of my life that I cannot get away from them anymore. If anybody has any questions about any of those systems, or possibly others that my friends have studied, I'd be more than happen to discuss these things and how one system might fight you better than another.

(Bucks County)