Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Beaver County)

Default Thoughts on Duracoating? Anything will help

Long story short, I saw a video on youtube of a Remington 870 that had been refinished in a matte black and now I want to do mine. I've already sanded it down to a mirror finish and I've been keeping it oiled so it doesn't rust in the meantime. Is the shotgun being super polished going to affect how the duracoat turns out? How much do I need for the reciever, 18.5" barrel and magazine tube extension? Should 4 ounces work or do I need the 8 ounce bottle? I know that I'm supposed to degrease it before and then let it sit for a few days before reassembling it, any other bits of advice? I've never done anything like this before so I know it isn't going to be perfect but I'd like to be well informed so I don't totally F it up.
    Last edited by Misery Loves Shotguns; August 8th, 2010 at 07:08 PM. Reason: Forgot something I wanted to ask . . .

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Thoughts on Duracoating? Anything will help

Greetings,

You should have a slightly rough surface for the duracoat to adhere properly. The following is from the duracoat website....

Surface Type - Surface Preparation

Aluminium: Blast with 120 grit Aluminum oxide, OR Lightly Sand with 600 grit sandpaper

Brass: Apply directly over, Use only for low wear applications (Display only)

Chrome: Strip off chrome first

DuraCoat: Lightly Sand with 600 grit sandpaper

Gun Blue: New or Very good condition Apply directly over

Hard Coat: Anodizing Apply directly over

Nickel: Blast with 120 grit Aluminum oxide, OR Lightly Sand with 600 grit sandpaper

Parker: Apply directly over

Polymers: All...Blast with 120 grit Aluminum oxide, OR Lightly Sand with 600 grit sandpaper

Stainless Steel: Blast with 120 grit Aluminum oxide, OR Lightly Sand with 600 grit sandpaper

Teflon: Blast with 120 grit Aluminum oxide, OR Lightly Sand with 600 grit sandpaper

Wood: Lightly Sand with 600 grit sandpaper