Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default May a non-resident transport an AR 15 to a Pennsylvania range?

I'm a New Jersey resident. All but the most emasculated AR-15 type rifles are banned here. I, however, own a house in Pennsylvania with my brother (he resides there). My question is, if I have my brother purchase an AR-15 and keep it at his residence in Pennsylvania, may I transport it to a Pennsylvania range without having him with me? I have a NJ FID card. I know PA residents may transport rifles to the range in Pennsylvania. I've also seen the statute saying that non-residents must comply with PA gun laws. But, it is not clear to me whether I, as a non-resident, could legally transport an AR 15 from a PA home to a PA gun range given the rifle is legal in PA, it would not be legal for me to purchase as an NJ resident.

Thanks in advance for replies.

(Luzerne County)

Default Re: May a non-resident transport an AR 15 to a Pennsylvania range?

Yes, just make sure it is unloaded, as defined in the UFA.

(York County)

As long as your brother is not buying it "for" you, which would constitute a straw man purchase....right?

(Schuylkill County)

I think you are close to what is called a straw purchase. Is your brother buying a gun for you or you are going to "borrow" his gun?
    If it is your gun then I think you might have a problem with being a NJ resident owning an Assault rifle even if you keep it in another state because there is no legal way for you to buy that gun.

With the usual disclaimer for not being a lawyer, I believe that long rifles can be transported without an LTCF and without the owner being present even if you are not a citizen of PA. But wait for more responses.

BTW: The NJFID is useless in PA except for maybe to show you are not a prohibited person.

(Franklin County)

Quote Originally Posted by Steve in PA View Post
    Yes, just make sure it is unloaded, as defined in the UFA.