Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default AK 47 MG Question

Awhile back I was watching a TV program about the age old question of AK vs M16. They went into the design of each, rate of fire, cartridge size and what not. Being an engineer myself (don't know anything about full auto) my interest was peaked by the difference in rpm. Why does the ak shoot at 600 rpm vs the M16 at 800 rpm? They also mentioned some ak's have a rate reducer and some don't. What is the rpm with a rate reducer vs without. Does the M16 have a rate reducer?

My brother was in a rifle platoon in Vietnam. He told me that the M16 was so fast on full auto that carrying enough mags was a big problem and therefore was used on full auto only in certain situations. The fast M16 with a 20rd mag vs a slower ak with a 30rd mag. Seems the commies out thought us. Just wondering....thanks.
    Last edited by Wayne; July 9th, 2010 at 01:44 PM.
    Noble 229th. Tribute to my bother. Lam Son 719 Invasion into Laos February 1971.

(Armstrong County)

Default Re: AK 47 MG Question

It comes from a few different things that all play a part for the final outcome.
    -the overall design or type of gas/recoil system
    -length of gas system, which will effect dwell time and lock up time, not much but it does
    -weight of bolt, the gas has to push something, either the piston or the bolt
    -amount of gas used to push said bolt. this is where the reducer come into play.
    -any amount of back pressure will increase the rate of fire, like a suppressor
    -some different buffers will increase the rate as well. may short stroke the bolt and not allow it to travel is entended length in turn speeding up the rpm

im sure someone will add some more info or correct me

(Allegheny County)

I really don't see much of a difference between 10 rounds a second (AK) vs 13 (M16).

Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't F/A for suppressing fire & S/A for when you want well aimed accurate fire?
    Toujours prêt