Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Delaware County)

Default "But ALL guns have to be registered - especially in Philly!"

SO I stopped into my regular meal-joint over on Main Street this morning for a late omlette. After joking with one of the cooks about if it was too early to order a reuben, I settled in and struck up a conversation with one of the waitresses. We joke back and forth and are sarcastic with each other often, and she seems to appreciate the distraction.

At one point, she was walking behind the stool I was sitting on and asked me what I do for a living.

"Computers...networks...virtualization of servers...boring stuff if you're not into it."
    "Okay...and what the hell is that? (I saw her gesture towards my hip out of the corner of my eye, apparently she's never seen it on me in the last few months of me patronizing the place)
    "It's a gun - what the hell does it look like?"
    "Jeez, I hope you have a permit for that."
    "Technically, I don't need one."
    "Yes you do! You need a permit to have a gun."
    "No, you don't - you don't need a permit or a license or anything to own and carry a gun under certain conditions." I thought about getting into the whole OC/CC discussion but she clearly wasn't interested, so I let her steer the conversation - call it a fishing expedition.
    "Well, it better be registered."
    "There is no gun registry - in fact, such a registry would be illegal if it existed."
    "What?! That's bullshit - all guns need to be registered, especially in Philly."
    "No they don't. In fact, anyone over 21 years old can own and possess any handgun, rifle, or shotgun in Pennsylvania without a license."
    "Well, what about illegal guns?"