Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Lancaster County)

Default Preemption Violation Elizabethtown Borough

I happened across this sign the other day. I sent the Borough Manager the following e-mail but have received no response. I will give them until Monday until I address this issue with them in person, whether that is a meeting with the Borough Manager or an appearance at a Brorough Council meeting. I may need some help, but we'll see how it goes.

Dear Ms. Ryan,

Good afternoon, My name is {powderkegg} and I am a resident of Elizabethtown Borough. I am writing this email to bring to the attention of the the Borough Council and yourself of a Elizabethtown Borough Community Park ordinance that appears to be in violation of state law. The second rule on the sign posted at the park area off of Verdant Alley states "Firearms and other weapons are prohibited." I have included a picture of the sign with this correspondence. I have also found that the ordinance posted on the Elizabethtown Borough website http://www.etownonline.com/Ordinance...egulations.pdf is also in voilation of the state law as well

It is my understanding that the firearms prohibition portion of this rule is in violation of Title 18, Chapter 61, subchapter A (otherwise known as The Uniform Firearms Act) specifically subsection 6120 which states: "General rule: No county, municipality or township may in any manner regulate the lawful ownership, possession, transfer or transportation of firearms, ammunition or ammunition components when carried or transported for purposes not prohibited by the laws of this commonwealth.”