Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default Back in the land of freedom!

I just got home after spending the last four days in hostile territory - travel through NY and into CT for a national symposium related to my profession. It was a very interesting time. I was working as the "booth babe" for a machinery manufacturer, since I own and use one of his machines. My profession is a mix of art and craft, hobbyist and professional, and there are a lot of left leaning liberal thinkers in the mix of people who attend these things. Some of them can get pretty wacky.

I have been very vocal about my gun rights in my occupation, to the point where I have videos on You Tube of me working while carrying openly, and have carried openly at a previous symposium, as well as in front of many of my students. I was gratified to hear many of the comments directed to me while at the symposium. My demos were such that anyone in the crowd can just walk up to me and start up a conversation. I got a number of

"thanks for standing up for our gun rights"

one, "I didn't recognize you without your gun on" (a joke from a NJ guy who went to dinner with me while I was OC at the last event)

and several questions on carry laws in various states. Even some of the most liberal people I know were very matter of fact about my carrying, without being judgmental or denigrating. One lady, a self described peacenik engaged me in a detailed discussion of telescopic sights and lenses on cameras, one of her side interests (the cameras, not the sights).