Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Lehigh County)

Default State College Gun Range?

Hi everyone, I'm new to all this so bear with me.

A friend of mine is leaving the country soon because she is on a student visa. She had mentioned that the one thing she wanted to do before leaving is shoot a gun because she has never shot one before. So I'm looking for:

1. a good gun range in state college area to go to (pistols and rifles if possible), instruction preferable. I do have a car, so distance isn't an issue, but I don't want to drive too far out of state college.
    2. some information about gun ranges since I've never been to one before.

so my questions are:
    -What kind of safety regulations are there in a gun range? How do I know that I won't meet some wacko that decides to shoot at other people?

-Are there any requirements to shoot at a gun range? Neither of us has a license to own any firearms, and she has no experience while I've only shot my friend's winchester rifle and a few bb guns.

-Since neither of us owns any guns, is it possible to rent guns for the day?

-Is there anything I should know about things that are and aren't acceptable to do before going to a gun range?

(Centre County)

Default Re: State College Gun Range?

Quote Originally Posted by pandamoose View Post
    Hi everyone, I'm new to all this so bear with me.

A friend of mine is leaving the country soon because she is on a student visa. She had mentioned that the one thing she wanted to do before leaving is shoot a gun because she has never shot one before. So I'm looking for:

1. a good gun range in state college area to go to (pistols and rifles if possible), instruction preferable. I do have a car, so distance isn't an issue, but I don't want to drive too far out of state college.
    2. some information about gun ranges since I've never been to one before.