Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Default New PA resident, originally from Kalifornistan.

Hey guys, great boards.

I'm originally from Los Angeles, California. As you can imagine, I'm used to some pretty ridiculous gun laws out there. I'm moving to Pittsburgh in August, and I had a few questions regarding laws etc...

1. I have a Utah CCW permit that has double reciprocity for PA. I have recently been told that my Utah CCW permit is not valid if I am a resident of PA. Of course, I am planning on obtaining my PA CCW with the Allegheny County Sheriff's Department as soon as I can, but I was wondering what sort of "lay-period" I have where my Utah CCW will be valid even though I'm a resident? People tell me it's anywhere from 30 days to 6 months. I just wanted a solid number from someone in the know.

2. What sort of "Assault Rifle" laws are there? I have been told that automatic weapons are only "partially" restricted (...uhhh...). I own an AR-15 (yes, even California has it's loopholes) and I would love to be able to sell it in California so I can buy something a little more PA-friendly when I get out here.

3. What's the law on handgun/rifle magazines exceeding 10 rounds?

Forgive my ignorance gentlemen. I was able to find some information here and there, and I used the search function (perhaps poorly), but I figured this would be a good way to get my questions answered. I'm a law-abiding citizen who can't risk any sort of blemish on his record, so I'm trying to make sure I do everything legit.

Thanks again, and thanks for having me on these boards.

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: New PA resident, originally from Kalifornistan.

Oh boy, scratch question number two. No excuses, I totally skipped over the NFA subsection of the firearms forum. My apologies.

(Jefferson County)

Quote Originally Posted by Thindy View Post
    Hey guys, great boards.