Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (York County)

Default Ruger gp 100 or service six??

I know both are about equal in strength and reliability, gp 100 having a slight edge for strength.

Which one would you pick for fun shooting and field duty? And why or why not.

And please don't tell me to go with and make or even another Ruger model, I'm set on one of those 2. I realize either will likely need a trigger job but that isn't an issue.

Default Re: Ruger gp 100 or service six??

Really, you couldn't go wrong with either one. It just depends on what you want it for.

Personally I like the look and feel of the GP100 over the Security Six. I've been shooting the same one for over 20 years and it is my favorite revolver. It is a beast compared to the Security Six. My 4 inch GP100 weights almost a half a pound more than a 4 inch S6.

(Montgomery County)

Talking Re: Ruger gp 100 or service six??

My favorite revolver GP100 .357, wish it was a 454 casull/45 LC.
    Solid as a rock,38.5 oz loaded, speer 357 short barell 2 1/4.

Go with the GP100......im getting one sometime next month or when the otherhalf approves it lol

(Montgomery County)

If you buy a new GP100 you will have warranty protection and a damn fine gun. I would go with a current production revolver like the GP because of the factory and aftermarket support.
    Join the groups protecting your rights from the fools trying to take them from you!

(Centre County)