Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default Powder For Handgun and Rifle Loads

Can a recommendation be made for a well-rounded universal handgun load powder, and one for rifle loads?

Mainly, 38 spc, 357, 223 and 308. Possibly 45 acp and 9mm...

And, since I'm a novice, what is the difference between handgun powder and rifle powder?

(Lebanon County)

Default Re: Powder For Handgun and Rifle Loads

I'll answer your last question first.

Without getting into all sorts of technical BS, simply put, the difference between handgun powder and rifle powder is the burn rate. Handgun powder burns faster to be better suited for shorter barreled guns with smaller cartridges (less case capacity), and rifle powder burns slower to be more useful in longer barreled guns with bigger cartridges (greater case capacity). That is not absolute, there are exceptions to that rule. For instance, my favorite powder for .357 Magnum (handgun) and .22 Hornet (rifle) is Hodgdon Lil'Gun. (shotgun powder).

Yes, a recommendation can be made for a well-rounded universal handgun load powder, and one for rifle loads, within certain limits. Those powders may not give optimum performance, but will be plenty functional. Hodgdon Varget should give decent results in both .223 and .308 cartridges, but you may find that you get better accuracy from your .223 with Accurate 2230, and better accuracy from your .308 with IMR 4064. (Just 2 random examples).
    You will find load data for the handgun cartridges you have listed for several powders that will work in all of them, but those powders may not be the "best" powder for any of those cartridges in 'your' guns with the bullets you choose to use.

I just wanted to answer the questions as you asked them, I'll stop short of making any specific recommendations and leave that to someone who has and loads for the calibers you specified.
    (I don't load for all of them, therefore I'm not qualified to actually give specific advice).