Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default The view from the outside looking in

I am fairly new to the whole firearms world, but I wanted to write this to give people some context from an outsider who didn't grow up in a not hugely pro-firearms household. I'm from the suburbs west of Philly my father had a 12 gauge whose main purpose was collecting dust. My family as a whole didn't really believe in hunting for reasons other than food, concealed carry, etc... and was not very active in gun politics. We also lived in a very low crime area, to give you and idea of how low, when the sheriff came out to shoot a rabid fox in our yard he had trouble loading his shotgun. I admit that before I actually took the time to do hours of research myself and immerse myself in both arguments of the pro and anti gun movements I believed that some degree of gun control was a good idea. Before your blood temperature reaches a boil after that last line consider this; my view of gun crime was mainly that of the channel 6 news every night talking about how many people got murdered over drugs in Kensington and not really seeing or knowing anything about the legitimate firearms community. The news taught me that people who owned handguns were drug dealers or crazies and NRA members were just a bunch of gun nuts.

Then I moved to northern Philadelphia.