Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Carrying on private property.

OK, so as it stands, this month's interpretation of the constitution of the right to keep and bear arms stands for your home. They can't infringe upon that. Carrying in public is a privilege (so they say).

So...........what is it specifically? Could you conceal carry, open carry on your home property in your yard? This is legal right? What if you own a second piece of property that you own, but isn't your home? Can you carry there? As in PA if you don't have a LTCF, or lets say in MD, where you need one to carry in public.

What about a store? A store isn't owned by the government, its owned by a store owner, a private entity. Is that considered public? Whats the difference who owns it? Where does this boundary exist?

Default Re: Carrying on private property.

Huh? That post is so confusing
    I am not a lawyer and nothing I say should be construed as legal advice.

(Indiana County)

OK, so as it stands, this month's interpretation of the constitution of the right to keep and bear arms stands for your home.
    So says the U.S. Supreme Court in their Heller decision, sort of, maybe.
    They can't infringe upon that.
    Ask the citizens of New York or New Jersey if they can just go out and purchase a firearm for their home.
    Carrying in public is a privilege (so they say).
    Depending on how it's carried.

So...........what is it specifically? Could you conceal carry, open carry on your home property in your yard?
    In your yard you can carry concealed if you have an LTCF. You can open carry with or without an LTCF.
    This is legal, right?
    So says state law.
    You own a second piece of property that you own, but isn't your home? Can you carry there?