Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: Deer herds....

(Tioga County)

Default Deer herds....

Am I the only that noticed last years deer season? I mean, are the deer herds drastically dropping in numbers? Maybe it stemmed from the surplus amounts of DOE permits issued a couple of years back, but who knows, maybe I'm the dumb one here?
    Real Eyes, Realize, Real Lies.

The only way the Gov't will get my guns is if they fight me for them.

Wasn't born in P.A., But I am a proud resident now!

(Monroe County)

Default Re: Deer herds....

I'm not sure where your located but here in my neck of the woods the Herds are just as strong as ever and the woods just as bare.

When I bought my house 10 years ago, the heard here was 49 head strong. It dropped to around 35 head 3 years ago and is now back at 48.

We just got the paperwork to D-Map the place in the hopes of thinning the herd.

Rich W.

(Beaver County)

I got some experience in this. I really havn't noticed a decrease in population except in the state game lands in McKeen Co. where I hunt bear. In Forest Co. on od of rifle , for the last 20 years, I usually see 10-15 deer, an ocasional turkey or a bear. This past year I got a glimps of one deer, and a 20 minute viewof a black bear. My brother was 80 yards away from me, he saw 28 deer, mostly does and he got one after I yelled at him because he hadn't shot at any of the first 10. I've seen alot of big bucks taken this year in this area than ever before. Before used to be just spikes and fork horns. Just provideing some perspective. In Allegheny, Westmoreland and Washington Co.s, there's more deer than places to hunt. In Green Co. the deer are so overcrowded there sleeping on the sides of the roads. .