Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Lancaster County)

Default New to carry question

I'm new to carrying and was wondering, what is better for my mags? To load/unload them when I carry, or keep a mag loaded all the time? Is one going to wear out my spring more then the other? To be sure the question is understood I have 2 mags, I have one loaded all the time and keep it seperate from the gun when at home. When leaving the house and carrying I put it in. Is this better or worse then loading a mag, carrying, then coming home and unloading the mag again only to load it up again tomorrow when you go out.

(Luzerne County)

Default Re: New to carry question

Keep it loaded.

With a properly designed/chosen modern spring, set is not an issue as much as exercising them, which is typically what wears them out.

danbus wrote: ...Like I said before, I open carry because you don't, I fight for all my rights because
    you won't, I will not sit with my thumb up my bum and complain, because you will.
    Remember Meleanie

What Pa Patriot said. Loading and unloading will wear the spring out eventually. Being fully extended or fully compressed will not hurt it at all. Keep the mag loaded.

(Westmoreland County)

Quote Originally Posted by Lancshooter74 View Post
    To be sure the question is understood I have 2 mags, I have one loaded all the time and keep it seperate from the gun when at home. When leaving the house and carrying I put it in. Is this better or worse then loading a mag, carrying, then coming home and unloading the mag again only to load it up again tomorrow when you go out.
    At first I thought you were asking if loading and unloading a magazine will cause excessive wear to the magazine spring... to which the answer is yes.