Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Default Carrying in a School

Didn't want to use my normal PAFOA account so I made a throwaway account so as not to possibly give away any information. Probably don't need to, but just an extra precaution.

I work in a school, and as we all know the wording of Title 18, SS 912 is a little confusing and until we get a verdict from the trial about the doctor who carried at his children's school, we don't have any official yea or nay on what the language "other lawful purposes" constitutes.

But, keeping that in mind...

Assuming "other lawful purpose" means that Self Defense as declared on the LTCF is a lawful purpose, and given my schools policy on "Unauthorized possession" on school property... I'm thinking that if I get permission from those who run the school (it's a privately funded school) I would be authorized per the employee handbook rules, and then being authorized I then fall under section C as:

It shall be a defense that the weapon is possessed and used in conjunction with a lawful supervised school activity (being employed there) or course or is possessed for other lawful purpose.
    My school has no SRO or security personnel of any kind. Entry into the building is spotty with teachers leaving through multiple doors in an old building where the doors don't always fully shut behind them. There have been several incidents where it required normal day-to-day staff to intervene which is beyond their requirements. And there is no formal vetting process at the front door to definitively tell who is entering the building. The entry vestibule has very poor LoS and the cameras in the building are maybe 480p when taking still photos, worse with video.

Assuming the people who run the school are open to reasoning, and these points are taken into account... do you think I have a decent shot at navigating the no-school-carry?

(Crawford County)

Default Re: Carrying in a School