Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Butler County)

Default Max Length vs Trim to length?

Hello everyone,

I'm finallyy getting around to starting to reload and I can't seem to find a definitive answer for this one. Everything I've read on reloading is just a high level conceptual explanation, and doesn't really get to specifics like this for some reason.

So I'm currently only planning on reloading 9mm for right now, and all of my sized cases are coming in under the Max Length spec in the book. So does this mean I'm ok so long as my overall case length is at or below max after I seat and crimp?

The way I'm interpreting these numbers are "you're ok until you meet or exceed the max case length. Once you reach or exceed that length, then trim back to length specified in the book". Is that a correct interpretation of Max length, and trim to length?

Thanks in advance!

(Tioga County)

Default Re: Max Length vs Trim to length?

I'm just getting started myself and with 9mm. Right now just depriming and resizing, haven't moved on from that.

I've never heard anyone trimming 9mm pistol cases or any of the similar straight walled pistol cases. I'd imagine if one came in over max length I'd just chuck it in the recycle bin.

(Montgomery County)

You don't need to trim straight wall brass.

Just load them up.

You might notice better accuracy if you trimmed them all to the same length and cleaned out primer pockets etc.. But most people will not.

edit: Worry more about the OAL of the completed round.
    Last edited by Pkspawn; December 3rd, 2013 at 11:55 PM.
    The problem with shooting Chinese bullets is 15 minutes later you wanna shoot again.

(Berks County)

Straight wall cases in pistol caliber generally do not need trimmed. If they are all under the max length you can safely load them. There is no need to separate them by length or trim them to a standard.