Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: 38 long colt

(Berks County)

Default 38 long colt

A friend of mine had given me a mixed batch of 38 rounds.There is a box of 50 38 long colt rounds in a plastic case guard box.The 38 long colt is shorter than the 38 special and longer than a 38 S&W. Can anyone give some information about the 38 long colt.
    Thanks,Bill

(Delaware County)

Default Re: 38 long colt

I have no experience with it, but if you get no help here, Google "38 long colt" and there will probably be a ton of info on it.

Give you a head start anyways.

Good luck.

(Luzerne County)

There is info on the web and in Barnes' Cartridges of the World.
    The 38 Long Colt was the US Army official military cartridge from 1892 to 1911. It was not a good stopper as some of our fellows found out in the Phillipines back at the turn of the century.
    It was replaced in 1911 by......guess what?
    It can be fired in a revolver chambered for the .38 Special (but not vice-versa).
    Pete
    “Auto racing, bull fighting, and mountain climbing are the only real sports ... all others are games.”Hemingway ...

(Perry County)

Some use the .38 Long Colt in their completion revolvers as the shorter case can be loaded with lighter loads and still be adequate. Also, the shorter case eject more forcefully so are slightly more foolproof. Not sure if one can make 125 power factor with it or not.

(Lebanon County)

they belong to one of these old guys. the first of what has become the modern style of revolver, dual action, swing out cylinder. prior to it the norm was single action, top break, or even better a load gate in which rounds were loaded or unloaded one at a time.
    and it was replaced with the m1909 colt, in 45colt.

if you want to find a new home for those 50rounds, we can talk.
    Last edited by brian; September 26th, 2012 at 05:23 PM.
    it's only metal, we can out think it....

(York County)

Basic round history: